Aerostar Ford Aerostar

New member, new Aerostar

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2005, 12:17 PM
Torsen Rick
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New member, new Aerostar

I use the term "new" loosely, of course. I've been lurking in here for a while, but this is my first post. I just acquired a '93 AWD Aerostar XLT from my grandfather over the weekend, so I thought I'd drop in here and say hi.

A little bit about myself: I live near Rochester, NY. I'm an automotive engineer - I work for a company that makes limited slip differentials and AWD systems (Torsen). I'm a moderator at an offroad rangers website and an admin at the ford exp site. Obviously, I'm a Ford guy through and through.

The van was given to me by my grandfather. He's in Florida and the van was at his house in NY just sitting, so he said I could have it. Its got 180K miles on it, but it seems to run well. The clutch in the t-case does seem to be functioning properly as well. It has the usual NY cancer along the lower body. I'm hoping that it will just get me through the winter, and if it seems to be doing well after that, then I'd like to use to tow my rally car around - at least to the somewhat regional events. If not, I may replace it with a newer one.

One of the engineers at Ford that I know and work with was the head drivetrain engineer for the AWD version of the Aerostar. He suggested bypassing the t-case clutch controller with an on/off switch. He didn't tell me how to do it per se, but I'm sure the wiring can be sorted out readily enough. He said the clutch had the torque capacity to handle higher torque loads then would see above 5 mph (quite beefy he said), and that a simple on/off would probably increase its life since it wouldn't be constantly slipping in and out of engagement (makes sense to me). I see in older posts that several people have discussed doing this, but I didn't see if anyone actually had. This is probably something I'll try before long.