The 4.2, What's it based from?

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2005, 03:44 PM
f15terwitha6ter
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The 4.2, What's it based from?

I am new to the late model trucks and was wondering what,(if any) other engine the 4.2 is based from? Is it a punched out 4.0, or is it a 5.4 with two less cylinders? I just want someone to shed some light on this.

Old 02-06-2005, 04:50 PM
travlnman
More Turbo
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
It is a bored&stroked 3.8 liter from the mustang. Many of the parts are interchangeable.There's even a site called rpm mustangs, that has many hi-po parts for the mustang and the f-150,btw, welcome to FTE.

Old 02-06-2005, 07:04 PM
StreetCruiser
New User
It is simply a stroked 3.8 engine. Most parts for the 3.8 RWD engine will work perfectly.

Old 02-06-2005, 07:31 PM
Scott_XLT
Senior User
Just some extra info: the 4.2 is an older overhead valve (OHV) design while the 5.4 (and the 4.6) is a newer overhead cam (OHC) design. I am no expert on engines, but I believe (someone correct me if I'm wrong) that the OHV designs are generally more torquey at low RPMs than the OHC designs (this is a nice feature of OHV engines), while OHC engines tend to have more power at the higher-RPMs due to being better able to breath when working hard. There's a lot of guys that like the old fashioned "punch" from an OHV engine - also OHV engines sound "cooler", with that cool blub blub blub sound percolating away, while OHC engines tend to sound more modern and civilized (until folks change to exhaust systems meant to make their engine sound louder). Again, someone let me know if I am misrepresenting their differences.

Last edited by Scott_XLT; 02-06-2005 at 07:33 PM.
Old 02-06-2005, 09:25 PM
f15terwitha6ter
Junior User
Thanks guys. BTW The sound of a 13b Mazda rotary is the best imho. But back on topic, What reliability issues (if any) are with the 4.2? I just bought a 02 F150 plain truck yesterday.

Old 02-06-2005, 09:39 PM
cantrma