Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

How should I wire up a 220 volt 3 phase vertical mill?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2005, 08:50 PM
Super Steve
Laughing Gas
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How should I wire up a 220 volt 3 phase vertical mill?

I now have a bridgeport vertical mill in my garage waiting to be hooked up. The motor on it says 230 volt 3 phase. I have a 230 volt outlet nearby that is rated at 50 amps. I looked in the ENCO catalog and they have phase converters in there for anywhere from $80 to almost $600. The more expensive ones are the rotary ones and the cheaper are the static ones. Does anyone have any experience with any of these?
thanks
Steve

Old 01-13-2005, 07:17 AM
sparky30_06
Senior User
oh yes we do!!!! i had the same problem and being an electrical contractor i really did some homework on this one. and this is what i found out. DO NOT go with a static, or electronic converter. i assume that you are not running a computer or fancy electronics on it, use digitals. go with the rotary!!! the rotarty actually makes 3 phase power. it's not the cleanest, but you only need clean for computers and there are kits that you can add on to clean it up. with a static converter all it does is give the wild leg a kick to get it running then drops out basically single phasing your motor, which cut the power down and also if you want to tap with your mill it's not going to happen. I went with ANDERSON CONVERTERS out of AZ 480-988-2804 www.andersonconverters.com the 5hp converter runns like $400. great folks very easy to get alonge with and they will answerall your questions also. very easy to install. you could even wire a plug to it so you can plug it in you outlet so you would still have your outlet to use for the welder if you wanted. the unit has an on off switch on the top of it. and actually i have mine running my surface grinder, my mill and still need to hook up my lift but it has no problem with run