Sponsored by: DP Tuner

cranking vs idling

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2004, 10:34 AM
doodel2
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking cranking vs idling

I am new to everything...Diesel...this forum ...and fifth wheels...so this is probably like a first grade or kindergarten question....but we all start somewhere...
what are some of you fellas' philosophy concering cranking or idling...my neighbor who has never owned a diesel either informs me to let it idle and keep the cranking down as much as possible..."its hard on'em to crank"...what do you do..and when should I let it idle or crank up again....its a F-250 7.3L...I did search this forum looking but could not find a clue at all...
thanks

Old 06-16-2004, 01:41 PM
mtncrawler
Senior User
Normally I shut mine down if it's gonna be more than 10 or 15 minutes. Sometimes longer if it's real cold out. Mine doesn't crank very long before it fires, I just like to minimize glo-plug cycles. Idling seems to use almost as much fuel as driving and it's probably overfueling at least a little.

Old 06-16-2004, 04:19 PM
johnsdiesel
Post Fiend
I normally idle mine for short periods of time i.e. running in to the local minimart to pick up a 6-pack but don't let it idle for extended periods of time. You should only let it idle if you can keep the EGT high enough to prevent wet stacking. In colder weather it is not a great idea to idle your truck to let it "warm up" unless you have an auxillary idle controlller to raise the RPM and therefore raise the EGT. Diesels won't truly warm up unless they are driven. Even plugging mine in and letting it idle in freezing weather didn't get it close to being fully warmed up.