Head Removal Tips

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2004, 05:58 PM
Wakeboarder141
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Head Removal Tips

I have a 93 Bronco 351W that has a header bolt and an EZ-Out broken off in the head. I am planning on removing the head to take it to a machine shop, but this is my first time removing a head. I am under the understanding that I will have to replace the head gasket and head bolts. Can I just pick up a head gasket at the local autoparts store or is there something special I should look for? Where can I get head bolts and what kind do I need? Thanks!

Aaron

Old 06-07-2004, 07:33 PM
Chris_ce
Posting Guru
I would do both heads at the same time. Have both heads milled. Replace head bolts are avail from the auto store but I would use arp bolts. Also get a head gasket set that will come with your intake and valve cover gaskets. The only gaskets I buy are Felpro.

Old 06-07-2004, 07:45 PM
Wakeboarder141
Elder User
Are the intake and valve cover gaskets required in the head removal process? What will getting the heads milled do? Will they sell ARP bolts at an autoparts store? After the 4 day long horrible experience I had installing the headers, partly because of this broken bolt, I would like to keep the install simple if possible. I am on a VERY tight budget and am mostly concerned with getting rid of this horrible exhaust leak, but would like to do anything necessary that I can afford while I have it taken apart.

Old 06-07-2004, 08:06 PM
Chris_ce
Posting Guru
Milling the heads will give you a good mating surface If your heads warp very much you will get a leak but if you don't have a problem with the heads now you should be alright. You will need the valve and intake gaskets. If you have a small machine shop around he might take the bolt out without removing the head. When I was a punk kid I tried about the same thing and the machine shop owner told me He would have come to me and removed it.