New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88-7.3L Starting Problems

Old 10-12-2001, 09:06 AM
Bill_250
New User

I just bought this F-250 and had the head, and injector pump replaced. The truck runs great and mileage and pick up increased ...but. Since the work was done ( I didn't have the starting problems before this) I am having a hard time starting it. If I plug it in over night it starts 75% of the time if I pump the gas pedal after it lights off. The other times it lights off and basically sputters and dies after running for about a second. I then have to crank the engine through 3 or 4 extended periods before it starts.

The guy who did the work replaced the pump twice and it still won't start after sitting overnight.

Is this a combination of problems anyone has seen before? I am new to this diesel world and would like to do some of this work myself. Any ideas where to start.

Old 10-12-2001, 06:07 PM
powerstroker250
Posting Guru

I would look at the glow plug system.

Les

Old 10-12-2001, 08:15 PM
bjr20
New User

Looks like the mechanic either, pinched a wire to the glow plugs/harness, or the fuel system is losing its prime.

Old 10-13-2001, 12:58 AM
ccoffin
Junior User

I just had a pump put on my 91 7.3, and the mechanic didn't have the timing right. It wouldn't die, but it did take 10-15 seconds of cranking to start cold. When the timing was corrected it fixed it, and it lights off right away now. A new glow plug set and controller might also be needed.

Old 10-13-2001, 09:01 PM
Stax
New User

Check all your glow plugs for continuity/resistance, and make sure power is getting to all of them when the realy is on.