Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Quick Warm-up Hint

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2002, 10:14 PM
choirman
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Quick Warm-up Hint

I am new to the PSD but I have found a usefull way to warm-up the motor a little faster. I live in Northeastern Alabama. Our winters are not all that cold but we still have many morning in the teen's and 20's in the mountains where we're at. I started plugging in my truck to get a faster start up. I then thought I would just leave it plugged up as I ran the motor during warm-up.

Hey! It warmed up faster and reached operating temp. buy the time I was ready to drive. Maybe this was obvious and the way it is suppose to be done, but most of the guys I talked to around here don't even plug theirs in and told me to go through 2 or 3 cylcles of the "wait to start" before cranking. I've got better things to do than sit in a cold truck waiting for a light to go off.

This is my 3rd Ford truck.
F350 PSD 4x4 CC LB 6sp.

Choirman.

Old 01-26-2002, 11:28 AM
rotorhead
Senior User
Quick Warm-up Hint

choirman,

i can't think of anything that would be hurt by this right off hand. i live in mississippi so my winters are pretty similar to yours. only thing that comes to mind is the fact that when you plug your PSD in, it's about the equivalent of taking your wife's 1500 watt hair dryer, plugging it in and turning it on and leaving it all night. Can get a little energy intensive!!! I believe it's somewhere in the vicinity of 1200-1500 watts. that's why most folks who live "down here" where we live don't bother to plug theirs in. "up yonder" where it gets REALLY cold, they really need it to get that big motor running, but down where we live, it's not really necessary. still, if ya wanna plug it in, plug it in!!!

i hope you're as happy with your psd as i am.

Old 01-26-2002, 05:18 PM
alanscott
Posting Guru
Quick Warm-up Hint