2.9L TFI module, bad for good?

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2004, 04:15 PM
BRONC-OH
Cross-Country
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2.9L TFI module, bad for good?

IF something (heat, coil, etc.) causes a TFI module to trip and stop the engine, is the TFI module no good any more?

My 2.9 keeps dying with no spark after warmup and I suspect the TFI. However, I have put two new TFI's on it and it keeps happening. I changed the coil and coil wire and still no luck. I changed the coil after the module failed and it failed again. If the original coil was to blame in the first place, do I now have to get yet another new TFI or is the most recent one still good?

This electrical stuff is driving me nuts!

Thanks!

Old 04-06-2004, 05:24 PM
_rich_
Senior User
I'm no expert, but here's my experience with a 90 B2 2.9L...

The TFI left me stranded twice on hot days in traffic. I replaced it. About a week later, I got stranded again on a hot day - same thing, no spark. After cooling off for 30 minutes or so, I started it up and drove home.

After doing some research online, I pulled and dismantled the distributor, changing the stator (connected to the TFI) in the process. I also put in a second new TFI module. I've been carrying the first new TFI as a spare for over 2 years and 50k miles now, and have never needed it. This may or may not be similar to your problem.

Two things to consider -
1) I've since read that you can buy a new distributor (complete with stator) for not much more than what a stator will cost. If there's a lot of crud built up on the distributor shaft (oil varnish, basically), you may not be able to get the distributor apart. If you do pull the distributor, do so very carefully and re-install very carefully to be sure everything goes back EXACTLY as it was.