Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about manual hubs

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2004, 04:48 PM
CPB
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about manual hubs

I'm in the process of replacing the front axle u-joints in my 1995 F150 4x4. I noticed when taking off the manual hubs that the passenger side had a spring below the first c-clip. However, there was no spring on the driver's side. I'm curious if this is correct, or if the driver's side should have a spring as well. In case you can't tell, it's my first time taking the hub assemblies apart. Thanks for the help.

Also, anyone have any tips for taking off the bolts that attach the spindle? I've soaked them down with WD-40, but they still won't budge. I'm so close to getting the axle shafts out I can taste it!

Old 03-28-2004, 05:51 PM
boulderbronco
Tuned
Received 11 Likes on 2 Posts
Are the hubs the factory hubs? They should both have a spring. As for the spindle nuts I would get some good penetrant. BP makes good stuff. WD is just an all purpose and not really a penetrant. Then I would take a hammer to the bolt heads. Don't trash them but give em' a good hit. That usually breaks any bond from rust and such. If that does not work heat is the next step.

Old 03-28-2004, 05:57 PM
Squiggy
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Dont bother hitting them with a hammer youll jsut wreck the threads, then it will be more work. Take your ratchet and extend it for a mechanical advantage. This will break them. And the Hub question I think someone took them apart and never put the spring back. Ever get a non locking hub where it engages and disengages?? It should be acting up if there was no spring.

Old 03-28-2004, 08:51 PM
CPB
New User