1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

looking to swap a 44 in front instead of independent in 95 ranger

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2004, 06:42 PM
kazieman62
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
looking to swap a 44 in front instead of independent in 95 ranger

Im looking to swap a dana 44 in the front of my ranger and get that pos independent crap out of there. I was told to find one from a early bronco 66-77 because it is narrower and that i would need to use those radius arms from the bronco. Im having a hard time finding an old bronco. If anyone knows any other possible way to do like a differnt vehicle or if i can use different radius arms. I need all the input i can get. thanx

Old 02-16-2004, 08:58 PM
FordLariat
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am by no means an expert on this, but couldn't you use one from an earlier Ranger, or did they have the Dana 40?

Old 02-16-2004, 09:35 PM
kazieman62
New User
im not sure exactly what was before the independent but i know it was smaller than a 44

Old 02-17-2004, 02:45 AM
Matts72
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
I'm pretty sure they had a Dana 35. Its fairly light duty.

You should look for a wrecked Jeep. Any 4.0L jeep has the Dana 35 solid front axle.

I even have a good place to look. This axle is a popular swap out for super jeepers. Head over to http://www.jeepsunlimited.com check out the grand cherokee forum, and there are some for sale forums at the top.

Welcome to FTE, FordLariat, and kazieman62

Old 02-17-2004, 09:29 PM
kazieman62
New User
just looked in the book today and a ford ranger never had a straight axle. I found a dana 44 for 400 bux and radius arms for 45 bux. The axle doesnt have the right gears and i know i need coils shocks and some fabrication. I just wish there was a shopping list of parts and step by step instructions. Ive also heard there needs to be some custom setup for the steering.

Old 02-18-2004, 02:33 AM
AKTraveler
New User