Swaying with new truck using same WDH

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2024, 01:29 PM
dilas
Tuned
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Swaying with new truck using same WDH

I've been using the Andersen WDH for last ten years with my previous F150 pulling with 24' travel trailer with no problems. In fact, loved it. Then I traded the travel trailer for a longer one with 29'. Works pretty good with my F150, but decided to upgrade with a new F350 after two years. Finally had a first towing experience over the weekend using the same WDH attached to the 29' TT. Lower the hitch height to keep the trailer level, and to my surprise that the sway is much noticeable towing the same TT with new F350 driving on interstate at around 70mph. It had some winds over the weekend, but I've driven through the wind bunch of times so I'm pretty familiar how it feels. But the sway was pretty extreme this time, any advice? The Andersen WDH works really well in the past, I've tried to tighten up the chain to transfer the weight to front end of truck. Still no difference. Trying not to overreact by getting a different WDH, but will be open minded if it's necessary. Hmm, the only difference I can think of is that I had to use the 2.5" to 2" adapter sleeve on the hitch end.

The following users liked this post:
Old 04-30-2024, 03:53 PM
Strider250
Mountain Pass
Received 139 Likes on 93 Posts
I would be suspicious of the built in sway control feature of your truck which can fight with your WD hitch, this can easily be disabled. I would check with Anderson for their recommendations to see if they recommend turning it off. Blue Ox recommends turning it off which I do every time I start the truck with the trailer attached because the default is "On" and there appears to be no way to set the default to "Off". I have no problems with sway with it off.

Old 04-30-2024, 04:06 PM
dilas
Tuned
Hmm, good to know this. Is this under Towing settings or truck settings? Still have lots to learn on this truck.