2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

B1681/Flashing PATS light/no crank no start

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2022, 01:13 PM
illimitableman
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
B1681/Flashing PATS light/no crank no start

I had this dreaded problem and wanted to share because I didn't see much info for a fix out there on this. A bunch of nonsense about inserting and leaving keys in for 15 minutes did NOTHING. This is my first time posting so if this isn't the right place or breaks the rules go easy on me.

truck : 04 FX4 / tune /6inch lift, 35's and other mods

Background:
  • Worked fine and now won't start/won't crank.
  • No dash or gauge cluster, windows won't work/ dome lights don't work/radio no power
  • No check engine light
  • PATS (Security light in front driver corner near windshield Flashes rapidly in on position)
  • when I turn the key I can hear the fuel pump (aka a noise behind the cab)
    • and clicking from the the ash (aka throttle body startup proceed)
  • There can be variations of these symptoms
Fixes:
  • First and foremost I checked battery/alternator
    • both good
    • no change
  • tried magical sequences about turning keys back and fourth
  • leaving key in for 15 minutes
    • didn't work
    • no change
  • Checked all fuses in the passenger foot kick panel
    • no bad fuses
  • swapped the PCM relay for the fog light relay
    • no change
At this point I got into my tuner and pulled the DTC code. Scanner pulled B1681 - PATS Transceiver Module Signal Is Not Received. I was pretty angry at this point because I knew I would probably have to call my dad to help me chase down wires and see where there was a short. But first I decided (with help from these forums) to swap out:
  • Fuel pump Control module
    • This didn't fix the issue but it was corroded and just another thing waiting to leave me stranded!