Blasted Ford Pickups

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2020, 07:53 PM
sddaltongang
Mountain Pass

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Question Blasted Ford Pickups

I am fairly new to bead/media blasting & have a couple of questions for you who have more experience, thus expertise! I bought a 'Dragway Tools Model 110 Sandblasting Cabinet & Built in Dust Collector LD-2420' a few months ago & have used it for 8 to 10 hours. What glass bead media do you find most effective? Or do you use some other 'media'?
My air compressor keeps up very well, but the glass beads often seem to surge out of the gun very effectively for a few seconds & then there is a lull of another few seconds when it seems to be blowing mostly air & not much beads until another surge of beads comes shooting out for a few seconds.
I really like the short few seconds when the surge of beads is going great guns, but wonder if there is something I am doing wrong to cause this inconsistent response.
Another question I have is how can I keep from sweating so badly in the gloves that after a few hours they stink & my hands/arms stink when I remove myself from the gloves. I washed them out once & it took a 'very long time' to get them completely dry, though they smelled OK.
I am in Sioux Falls, SD, where it is fairly humid which contributes to this problem I suppose.
Another issue is the water in the system. I have both the manufacturer recommended filter & desiccant valve installed, but it only takes a couple or three hours before the desiccant gets saturated & needs to be replaced/changed. The 'Campbell Hausfeld' service folks said that I have to have the bead blasting booth at least 10 to 15 feet downline from the compressor to mitigate this moisture issue. Even when I bleed the tank & filter every 15 minutes or so I still get an occasional burst of water pouring out of the gun in the booth. Any help will be appreciated! Thank you!

Old 08-02-2020, 12:39 PM
FuzzFace2
Fleet Owner
Received 2,182 Likes on 1,854 Posts