Sponsored by: Moser

1976 F-250 starts but won’t idle

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2020, 04:26 PM
DavWebb76
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1976 F-250 starts but won’t idle

I recently bought a project truck off of a friend of a friend and it needed a new carburetor. I bought a 4 barrel Holley Street Warrior for my 390 and just hooked it up. The engine cranks and with starting fluid it will run for a few seconds but will die even if I add a little bit of throttle. I’m new to older cars so any help would be appreciated! Thank you!

Old 05-17-2020, 04:36 PM
Truckd Up
New User
Look for any potential vacuum leak. Even with a big one, you should be able to get it to run by turning up the idle screw and priming with gas in a coffee cup. It's a process. What else is recently taken apart?

Old 05-17-2020, 09:35 PM
DavWebb76
New User
I took apart the heater assembly to trace back a leak and replaced the heater core. I replaced the ignition control module because it looked like it was in rough shape and I’ve taken off pretty much everything in the dash so then I could clean out a lot the dirt and see if anything else was in need of repair. And what do you mean with a coffee cup? I’ve heard of being able to gravity feed the carburetor gas but don’t know anything about it. Is that what you mean?

Old 05-18-2020, 12:43 AM
1TonBasecamp
Lead Driver
Received 745 Likes on 598 Posts
Starting fluid is only good for a couple of seconds normally, so it very well could not be getting any gas yet from the pump. Which is a very common scenario when a vehicle has been sitting for any extended period.
And especially so if the pump was a newer imported part!
Easy way to test for gas at the carb is to pull the air cleaner off (if it's even on yet) and row the throttle lever through it's motions. If you don't see gas squirting out of the squirters (accelerator pump nozzles) then either the accelerator pump is not working, or there is no gas in the carb yet.