Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Need help picking welder

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2019, 08:37 PM
Kyle Wood
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help picking welder

Im sure this has been discussed before and ive done some research.

Im very new to welding but have done it before andoved every minute of it. It is something i want to learn and get good at.

Im going to be buying my first welder and am stuck. Should i go the cheaper route and down the road upgrade or get a good unit and grow into it? This would be used almost only for auto purposes or light fabrication.

There are two units im looking at.

Vulcan protig 200. $550
Dual voltage
Ac/Dc tig
Duty cycle 20%
Comes with everything but tank
If it breaks probably buying a new welder

Miller syncrowave 210 $2000
Dual voltage
Ac/dc tig, mig, stick
Duty cycle 60%
Comes with everything to start welding both tig and mig but tank including cart
1yr warranty
If it breaks easier to get parts

Miller is what i want but a lot more money obviously. Its a machine i doubt id out grow atleast anytime soon. What do you think of these? What would you pick or whats another unit youd choose?

Old 09-05-2019, 11:07 AM
lonewolf_
Scope Wizard
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
the Vulcan is probably cheap due to the Lawsuits against them... they are on Clearance all over the place so I would say you can forget about any support.

I avoid Lincoln as they have Crap switches and PCB Failures nowadays, Miller actually makes a better product and the SW 210 should have a 3 year True Blue Warranty and the main power rectifier parts are covered for 5 years

I was Warranty certified for many welders and Plasma units when I had my shop but I retired in about 2005 after a 17 year run, so I have been out of the Loop for a while now, but I can say I had more Oddball, Hobart, and Lincoln machines in the shop next was ESAB/LTEC then Miller....