1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Got the bed on the F3 with a little help from passers-by

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2019, 07:55 PM
pineconeford
Knuckle Bandage Sales Rep

Received 625 Likes on 333 Posts
Got the bed on the F3 with a little help from passers-by

Ever have things happen mostly according to a plan? That is what happened to me on Sunday - for a change!

The long story is that I've been restoring this '49 F3 for almost 3 years.

A couple of weeks ago I finally got the painted bed back from the body shop so I've been getting it ready for install. The oak floor is finished and the chassis wiring to the tail lights is done.

On Sunday I felt that the bed was ready to place on the frame. I had installed the wood while the bed was up on sawhorses, at a height that would allow me to simply drive under the bed and let gravity do its thing. My cunning plan was to ambush my neighbors at about supper time and ask for them to help me lift the bed and position it in place.

I had the truck out in the driveway to neaten up the tail light wiring and a pickup drove by my house and stopped in the road. The driver was saying something out the window but I couldn't hear, I was about 80 feet away. I ignored him a bit but he kept saying something. So I stopped what I was doing and walked up to him. Sure enough, you know what happens next....

"What year truck is that?" .... "It's a 49", "It got a flathead?" ......."Sort of, it’s a flat six".

By this time both him and his passenger were asking questions. (They seemed nice enough, and didn't seem to be casing the joint or anything - they had been visiting a neighbor at the end of the road) "Where's the rest of the truck?" ...."In my backyard, I'm going to install it later today" "How ya goin' to do that?" .....Get a few neighbors and lift it"

Then the magic words happened.

"Need a hand?, let’s do it now - we'll help"