1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Purchasing a new truck

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2019, 08:24 AM
Brendon Griffin
Cross-Country
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Purchasing a new truck

Hey, first post here, so thank you for any advice.

I am looking at a 1966 F100 on Craigslist. I’m currently a college student, so I don’t have a lot of money to dump into the truck all at one time, I’m hoping for more of a continued project. My question is this: what are the most important parts of the vehicle to replace/upgrade before making it a daily/weekly driver. I’m looking for safety, comfort, and cost efficiency.

Old 04-18-2019, 08:32 AM
ibuzzard
Panties NOT in a Twist

Received 289 Likes on 199 Posts
To me - brakes, fuel system, steering/ suspension. You can drive it while you slowly improve it. Get a copy of the factory shop manuals which are reproduced, then hang out here using the search function. Oh, and save every penney you can as you’ll soon have a long list of “needs” , but more costly are the “wants”.

Old 04-18-2019, 08:48 AM
AZSCAWPION
Laughing Gas
Received 334 Likes on 177 Posts
Depends on the current condition of the truck and what you're expecting from it. My truck is as it was originally with stock drum brakes, no power steering, etc. Every system has been rebuilt and functions as new and after 2+ yrs as my daily driver, I wouldn't "upgrade" anything. That's my opinion though. Your preferences, driving conditions may be different. How do you define comfort and cost efficient?

At the very least, get it running dependably, get it stopping as it should, and get it rolling and steering safely. Everything else is cosmetic and won't mean squat if you're broken down on the side of the road.

Old 04-18-2019, 09:05 AM
Brendon Griffin
Cross-Country
Originally Posted by AZSCAWPION