Sponsored by:

Possible Engine Swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2003, 10:42 AM
Wakeboarder141
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Possible Engine Swap

I have been researching power upgrades for my 1993 351W Bronco and I started considering an engine swap as one option. I mean, why should I spend $4500 on a super charger if I can get a 460 with plenty of power for $1500? Is it even possible to do this swap? Is my gas mileage going to drop from it's already astounding 10mpg to a lot less? How many of my factory engine components would I be able to use? Would it be possible to still use fuel injection or would a carb be the way to go? Will I have to replace my transmission which is an E40D and, if so, is it possible to trade a good tranny and get some money towards the other one? Thanks for any input.

Last edited by Wakeboarder141; 10-01-2003 at 10:51 AM.
Old 10-01-2003, 11:28 AM
Kemicalburns
Hotshot
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
the swap has been done numerous times. i would stick with efi thats were you will get the best mpg but really thats not why you your gonna go big. you will need to replace the tranny with one that was bolted to a 460 already. best advice would be find a donor rig that has the 460 already in it. then start swapping all of it over tranny, computer, harness ... everything. there is nothing on the 351 that you would be able to use , but i could be wrong, there just to different motors. check out L&L products they have everything you would need for the swap.

good luck

Old 10-01-2003, 02:15 PM
frogger01
Senior User
Talk to Dustin Siebert he did this converison on his 1990 bronco known as "Rubber Ducky"

http://ylobronc.users.superford.org/

Personally I would do the SC install instead...

Last edited by frogger01; 10-01-2003 at 02:18 PM.
Old 10-01-2003, 11:17 PM
WhëëlMå1
Super Moderator
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts