2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Gnarliest maneuvering / climbing you've done with your TT RV ??!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2018, 10:30 AM
spleeft
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gnarliest maneuvering / climbing you've done with your TT RV ??!!

I'm totally new to pulling RVs . Ill be pulling a ~9-11k Toy Hauler TT ( not 5th wheel ) with my new F 350 gas 4.3 axle truck. I' m considering the parking / storage spot I'll be using at my house. My driveway is too steep as the angle from the road will probably make the hitch and/or tail gate of the RV drag ( most long trucks and my Moms pop up drags and cannot clear it ) However, my neighbors gravel drive leads to my side yard and a much less angle change from the road but I will have to turn up through the grass yard . I do it very easily with my car so Im thinking I can pull the RV up to the top of my drive where it's big and flat.
What is actually possible/safe and how sideways / steep of an angle have you'all pulled your rvs up ?!
Thanks for any help !

Old 10-04-2018, 11:51 AM
7591250sd
Senior User
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
After several close calls, and a tow truck I'm not much into driving on grass, unless it's frozen solid in January.

Old 10-04-2018, 12:04 PM
rcorkum4
Junior User
Grass and sideways give me pause. You are talking a lot of weight and I would be concerned about the available traction (even in 4 wheel drive) to move the heavy TT without wheel spin. You don't mention how much of a sideways angle you need to traverse but I would be nervous having 9-11k lbs trying to drag me sideways down a hill. Try viewing some 4x4 fails on You-Tube and you can see it doesn't take much to tip a rig if the low side tires dig in on a slope.

You could always try driving the truck across the slope without the TT to get a feel for traversing the slope without the TT hooked up.

Old 10-04-2018, 12:30 PM
jergle
Mountain Pass