Seeking advice for overheated 7.3 IDI

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2018, 03:38 PM
LRMetric
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Seeking advice for overheated 7.3 IDI

Hello,

I have a 1989 S1700 International School Bus with a 7.3 IDI with 196,000 miles. My brother was driving it recently when it lost power completely and eventually shut off, with smoke coming from under the hood. Unfortunately I wasn't in the vehicle when this happened. Upon further inspection I believe what happened is the alternator belt snapped (only one was on at the time, should have had two) which put a hole in a coolant hose, and tore off one or two other belts. I came back the next day with a diesel mechanic and we turned the ignition, the starter works fine but the engine will not crank or fire whatsoever, I assume this means not enough compression. There was also very little oil. I am relatively new to diesels and trying to learn more, but I am seeking advice as to whether I should have it rebuilt or replaced, or any other advice would be great.

Thanks,
Spencer

Old 07-06-2018, 01:03 AM
Leroy Unlisted
Laughing Gas
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
These motors can be spendy to rebuild, first I would confirm what you suspect.

If it's shot I would look for a donor first if they are available in your area, some places are awash with rusted out trucks with still fresh motors, some places they're still pulling high dollar and getting put to use, it's highly variable depending on where you are located on how much it's gonna cost.

But first thing look to see what's going on. Overheating usually blows out the head gaskets or throws a rod, can smoke your pistons if run dry long enough, but first I would dig in and determine exactly what it is.

You may have plenty of room to work under a bus hood, I don't know.. But if it's head gaskets and you have plenty of room to work that'd be great. Can do it in frame easy.