1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Differences between the F1 and the F3?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2018, 09:51 AM
Dazzle
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Differences between the F1 and the F3?

Morning All

I'm sorry if this has been talked about before or lots of times. I'm happy for someone to point me towards a link.

But, I've now purchased myself a 1951 F3 which does/will require some work which I'm aware of but I've started to think about things I could possibly do to help myself out.
So, looking through the local classified I saw various adds for projects or untouched/unloved trucks that might possibly have some good parts that could be utilised.
The thing is though, I'm new to these trucks and don't know a lot about them.

So my question is, what's the differences between the 2 models and even, what's the differences between the years?
This forum covers 1948 thru to 1956 and apart from the obvious differences in grills, what about the rest of the truck??
Same chassis? Same cab? Beds the same?

Thanks for taking the time to look and for any subsequent help in this matter

Dazzle

Old 06-12-2018, 10:01 AM
pineconeford
Knuckle Bandage Sales Rep

Received 618 Likes on 328 Posts
Hello Dazzle,

The F2/F3 cab and everything in it is the same with the occasional exception of the parking brake.
The front bumper, hood and grille is the same.
The front axle, and steering wheel is the same.

What is different:
The frame.
All four fenders.
The steering box.
All the brakes.
Rear axle.
Rear springs.
The running boards.
The bed and tailgate.

Hope this helps,
Tom

Old 06-12-2018, 10:10 AM
Dazzle
New User
Originally Posted by pineconeford
Hello Dazzle,

The F2/F3 cab and everything in it is the same with the occasional exception of the parking brake.
The front bumper, hood and grille is the same.
The front axle, and steering wheel is the same.

What is different:
The frame.
All four fenders.