PCV System Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2018, 09:52 PM
GoVols247365
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PCV System Questions

First of all, let me be very clear that I'm new to almost all of this DIY stuff, especially on older trucks like this. My experience totals changing Radiator, Alternator, serpentine belt, and oil changes, air filter, etc. That was all on a 99' Ranger. Long story short, I just bought a 1985 f150 with the 300 4.9l straight 6 a couple days ago. I was so excited to buy it, I didn't even ask the previous owner about some obvious things. lol.

I changed the oil today and clear water came from the plug. Also noticed some oil leaking and accumulating at various spots. Looked around and it became glaringly obvious (to me anyways, could be wrong) that the PCV system is all jacked up. I don't really even know where to begin. A lot of the hoses are cut, the oil cap is solid and all the holes are empty where it seems there should be some hoses coming up out of the valve cover. Anybody care to give some thoughts or point me in the right direction. Again, I'm very green at all of this so any help at all is appreciated.

It seems to run really well though. Pretty quite and no odd noises that I can tell. Here are some picture hopefully. I've only driven maybe 50 miles since buying it.

Old 04-25-2018, 11:13 PM
85e150
Super Moderator
Received 1,585 Likes on 1,292 Posts
Water out of the oil pan? Any oil come out? How does the coolant look?

It looks like the PCV has been removed, along with the connection to the oxygen sensor in the exhaust manifold. That it runs well with no noises is a good sign.

You are not the first in this boat. Do you have to have this thing inspected or smog checked? Getting back to OEM with that mess is going to be a real project. Scroll through this for valuable info, and some OT questions as well.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/8...6-300-a-2.html

Old 04-26-2018, 09:40 AM
GoVols247365
New User