Sponsored by: DP Tuner

2001 7.3 randomly won't turn over

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2018, 09:52 AM
eckskurzun
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 7.3 randomly won't turn over

I am not a mechanic so forgive my non-technical language. I try and do some basic stuff but take my vehicles to Alamo Diesel Service for real work. Seems like the whole lot is full of Ford diesels and Excursions so that is comforting. And they are very professional and down to earth, a family business.

What is bothering me now. In my 2001 Excursion, 7.3 diesel, 155,000 miles, Edge tuner, it is now randomly taking a long time to turn over and start. I've owned it more than a year with perfect starts. Over the past 3 months, randomly, without any cause I can discern, usually in the late afternoon, I try to start it and the battery and starter are strong, cranking and cranking and no turnover. Sometimes it will take up to 10 minutes with 20-30 attempts and, bam, it fires up and starts perfectly out of the blue and drives great.

Sometimes it has done that difficult to start routine in the afternoons when it is time to come home from work 4-5 days in a row with perfect morning starts, even in 20-30 degree weather. And then it might go 2 weeks with perfect starts twice a day. I've had about 10 days good and it happened again last night after having started three times earlier in the day just fine.

Oil is fresh and doesn't leak. Brand new starter from 2017. Both batteries tested strong. Strong, loud cranking sound, just doesn't turn over.

It is so random, I am worried about dropping it off for service before running it by this community. Anything I can do that is beginner to intermediate before dropping it off with the mechanic. Or, any hints I should give the mechanic?

Thanks!

Old 02-17-2018, 10:20 AM
SaintITC
Fleet Mechanic
Received 18 Likes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by eckskurzun