Low Fuel Pressure Reading/ Hard Start/ Rough Idle

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2017, 10:37 PM
hltnmtthw
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Low Fuel Pressure Reading/ Hard Start/ Rough Idle

I apologize for the long winded post, I just want to give an accurate dipiction to allow for clarity of the situation.

I acquired a 95 F150 4.9L XL from a lady who kept her husbands truck after he passed. The truck has, "supposedly" been run occasionally over approximately a 10 yr period. I am an amateur mechanic and I'm only doing the work myself because I can't afford to have it looked at, and I also think the experience I'm gaining is invaluable.

I am currently experiencing a lot of difficulty starting the truck (3 - 5 tries), which only works if I finagle the gas pedal. Once it catches it has an extremely rough idle and usually dies once I am able to get out of the truck and walk to the engine bay, which has made it very hard to get any KOER readings (Unless the code reader is attached and running, in which case it runs "well enough"). At one point it ran well enough to drive around my neighborhood a few times, ran like **** and shifted hard into 2nd (no noise, but you could feel it). The codes I got are for an insufficient EVP (replaced the solenoid after the code), 172 Ox lean, and 538 Insufficient Throttle Response (I did mash the petal during testing).

I got a fuel pressure tester today and it only goes up to about 28 PSI (KOEO, KOER).

Pertaining to the fuel system I have replaced the rear fuel pump assembly and tank (Spectra)(midship tank is still original, not functioning), the FPR (GP Sorensen), the fuel filter (twice, now motorcraft), the fuel pump & ECM Relay (Standard).

Ignition Components Replaced - Spark Plugs, Spark Plug Wires, Distributor cap and Rotor (Duralast), ICM (Delphi), Ignition Coil (Arts/Wells)

Emissions - (Vac Reservoir intact), Vac Lines (Silicon, Amazon), EGR (Duralast), EVP (Duralast), EVR (Arts/Wells),PCV Valve (Duralast), O2 Sensor