Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Stock Injector Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2017, 12:04 PM
jimjokjv
More Turbo
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
Stock Injector Rebuild

I thought I would post my experience with rebuilding my own injectors.

First a disclaimer: I am not a professional and far from it, just a DIY type of guy on a limited budget. Therefore I encourage any of the more knowledgeable people on this site to correct any errors in what I say or do and to add any information that I didn't include.

I purchased the 406 Injectors tool kit for this rebuild simply to be sure I had what I needed. It came in very handy, especially the holder that clamps into the vice and the 1/2 drive adapter plate for removing and installing the valve body.
The rebuild kit I used is also from 406 Injectors and is their deluxe kit.

Disassembly:

First step is to remove the exterior O-rings. A dental pick type tool works well to lift the o-ring so it can be cut with a razor blade.

The copper crush washer can be worked free with a razor knife:

Next the injector is placed in the vice holder. There is a pin that inserts through the side of the holder into the holes in the injector to hold it from spinning.

The solenoid screws are the first to be removed. Note: be sure to get a feel for how tight these screws are because the heads strip very easily if you over tighten them.

As you begin to remove these items pay special attention to the orientation. The solenoid connector faces the elongated area of the hold down clamp.
When the solenoid is removed you will see the spacer (note hole alignment runs in same direction as solenoid connector) and armature.

Once the spacer is removed you can check the armature clearance with a feeler gauge. I found it easier to do this on reassembly since that is when any spacers will be added.