1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Love my 1990 E 350 but....

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2017, 11:09 PM
ChanceCarny
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Love my 1990 E 350 but....

started running really rich fuel mixture and dropping oil right out of the tailpipe any ideas

Old 12-04-2017, 03:54 AM
annaleigh
Logistics Pro
Received 167 Likes on 154 Posts
It would help if we knew a little more about your van like what size motor, how many miles, what you use your van for...ect.

Old 12-04-2017, 06:11 AM
ChanceCarny
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by annaleigh
It would help if we knew a little more about your van like what size motor, how many miles, what you use your van for...ect.
I'm sorry I'm kind of new to this internet Forum thing keep trying to post a reply and it won't seem to let me. The motors is a 460 with a e4od transmission. I bought it in January and put almost 30,000 miles on it myself since then. It's fuel injection and that's what throws me I've never dealt with it before

Last edited by ChanceCarny; 12-04-2017 at 06:13 AM. Reason: Left out something important
Old 12-04-2017, 09:09 AM
annaleigh
Logistics Pro
I am more familiar with the small block engines but want to ask some more questions in case someone else reads this and knows more about the 460.

1- Is this just a E350 van or something heavier like a camper?

2- How many miles are on the odometer? I know the 90 model vans only go to 99,999 and roll over to 0 again so it could be over 100,000 miles.

3- Are you sure it is oil?

4- How long has it been doing this, miles, days?

5- before it started running rich, would it smoke when you first start the engine and then the smoke go away?

6- Is it smoking all the time now?

7- What color is the smoke coming out the exhaust?

8- How much oil was the engine using "before" you noticed this problem?

9- How much oil is the engine using now?

10- how much oil is dripping out?