6.2L V8 Discuss the 6.2L V8

When to go full synthetic

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2017, 11:28 AM
xxxsherpa
Fleet Mechanic
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
When to go full synthetic

Would like to run full synthetic oils in the engine and drivetrain due to trailer towing. The question...is there a minimum number of miles on the truck before I start making the switch? I have 1200 miles now.

Old 11-29-2017, 12:19 PM
don123
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
I've been using mobil 1full synthetic since my 1st oil change at 3300k miles. You can use full synthetic oil whenever you want imo.

Old 11-29-2017, 02:17 PM
Chuck's First Ford
Postmaster
Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
many vehicles today come with synthetic motor oil from the Factory.
I have been using synthetic oil since 1974.....
1,000 miles... is when I start using..

for my new generator.. after the first hour of use.

Old 11-29-2017, 03:39 PM
tibadoe
Elder User
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by xxxsherpa
Would like to run full synthetic oils in the engine and drivetrain due to trailer towing.............is there a minimum number of miles on the truck before I start making the switch? I have 1200 miles now.
You can switch to synthetics anytime. I will be switching over at my first oil change.

Old 11-29-2017, 07:15 PM
RainDesert
Cargo Master
Received 34 Likes on 27 Posts
I switched at my first oil change, which was at 5k. Been using it ever since.

Old 11-29-2017, 08:42 PM
xxxsherpa
Fleet Mechanic
Thanks guys, I'm leaning towards full syn. on my first oil change, was just looking for maybe something with proof in writing. What about the drivetrain?

Old 11-29-2017, 09:02 PM
Rob89
More Turbo
Received 106 Likes on 62 Posts
Originally Posted by RainDesert
I switched at my first oil change, which was at 5k. Been using it ever since.
Same here.

Old 11-30-2017, 06:37 PM
Bugzilla46310
Laughing Gas
Received 280 Likes on 151 Posts