1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C Compressor squeal

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2017, 05:23 PM
david772
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A/C Compressor squeal

I'm new at this, so please excuse anything I'm leaving out. I have a 2010 F250 Super Duty with 78,000 miles. A loud squeal is only heard when the A/C or defroster is turned on, and the noise is coming from the A/C Compressor area. I replaced the Serpentine belt, but this did not fix the problem. With the belt off, I noticed a little bit of play when wiggling the A/C clutch. The clutch turns freely by hand. It moves when the A/C or defroster is turned on. Since the loud squeal seems to be from the belt, is it possible the clutch is slightly binding when engaged, and therefore the pulley is not turning freely and therefore causing the loud squeak?

Old 11-06-2017, 06:21 PM
jetjockey99
Laughing Gas
Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts
You most likely have a weak tensioner but a bad pulley is a possibility. Does it squeal if the AC is turned off as well or just with the AC on?

Old 11-06-2017, 06:25 PM
david772
New User
Only when the A/C is turned on and the clutch is spinning.

Old 11-07-2017, 08:28 AM
TomTommy
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds like your A/C compressor is binding...only squeals when running...otherwise free pulley.
Could also be the air gap has gone out of spec between the clutch plate on the compressor, or even a worn clutch plate. Both easy fixes.
Get your blade feelers and check the air gap on the compressor. Spec is 0.014-0.026 in. Adjusted by adding/subtracting "spacers" which are basically #8 washers. Can be done on the vehicle-no need to dismount compressor or evac the system...

Old 11-07-2017, 08:57 AM
jetjockey99
Laughing Gas
Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts