1980 f250 swapping to 5.0 HO - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums



1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

1980 f250 swapping to 5.0 HO

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-13-2017, 02:10 AM
Jonesaustin Jonesaustin is offline
New User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Jonesaustin is starting off with a positive reputation.
1980 f250 swapping to 5.0 HO

The motor in my truck is in it's last legs and I have a friend selling me a 5.0 HO I know the bell housing fits my C6 but I'm wondering if anyone knows weather or not the motor mounts from my 351M will fit the 5.0 and if not is there a company that makes a motor mount for this combination or if I'm going to have to fabricate it and cut and weld my own mounts
Guidance please
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2017, 07:53 AM
Franklin2's Avatar
Franklin2 Franklin2 is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Market, VA
Posts: 39,624
Franklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant future
I am assuming you are going to change the transmission? The 351m c6 will not fit the 302.

If you have the correct transmisson, all you have to do is get the correct frame brackets. The 302 was originally offered in the 1980 f150, and as far as the engine cradle is concerned, that is the same as the f250. Find a junkyard with one of these trucks with a 302 or 351w in it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2017, 08:00 AM
Franklin2's Avatar
Franklin2 Franklin2 is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Market, VA
Posts: 39,624
Franklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant future
P.S. I see you are in California. Do you have to get this truck smogged? Do you have a plan to get through that? I think they will let you put a later/cleaner engine in a older vehicle, but your 5.0 engine was fuel injected correct? Will you have to install all the EFI also?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2017, 08:05 AM
Jonesaustin Jonesaustin is offline
New User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Jonesaustin is starting off with a positive reputation.
No smog I register back home being military and the guy I'm buying it from is giving me everything computer all sensors everything simple pull and stab and can I just switch the bell housing as far as I knew they were they same
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2017, 08:23 AM
FuzzFace2's Avatar
FuzzFace2 FuzzFace2 is online now
Post Fiend
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Angier, NC
Posts: 5,214
FuzzFace2 has a very good reputation on FTE.FuzzFace2 has a very good reputation on FTE.FuzzFace2 has a very good reputation on FTE.FuzzFace2 has a very good reputation on FTE.
If it is a C6 auto then no you can't swap bell housings as they are part of the trany case.
Dave - - - -
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2017, 08:23 AM
ctubutis's Avatar
ctubutis ctubutis is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver Metro Area, CO
Posts: 20,837
ctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputation
The bell housings are part of the automatic transmission casings and aren't removable on their own.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2017, 08:27 AM
ctubutis's Avatar
ctubutis ctubutis is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denver Metro Area, CO
Posts: 20,837
ctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputationctubutis has a superb reputation
Also the devices the motor mounts are bolted to - known as perches here on FTE, Engine Stands according to Ford - might be an issue. These things are riveted & bolted to the frame and were designed for particular engine families.

This stuff pertains to the 1970s but I'm throwing it out here by way of explanation of what I'm talking about:

Comparison Photos of Engine Perches - FORDification.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2017, 10:10 AM
Jonesaustin Jonesaustin is offline
New User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Jonesaustin is starting off with a positive reputation.
the engine comes with the T5 already mated but its only a 2wd can you make the T5 a 4WD and if so what tranfer case would i have to use
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2017, 12:29 PM
matthewq4b matthewq4b is online now
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St Albert, Alberta
Posts: 1,381
matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesaustin View Post
the engine comes with the T5 already mated but its only a 2wd can you make the T5 a 4WD and if so what tranfer case would i have to use
In short yes you can but it would be way easier to find a 4WD T5 . And then you still need to add the clutch pedal. In all honesty if you are looking lowest then either reman the existing engine or find a good used 351M or 400. Dropping a 460 in would be less work and cost than the 302.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2017, 02:27 PM
Jonesaustin Jonesaustin is offline
New User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Jonesaustin is starting off with a positive reputation.
well im buying the 302 and t5 from a friend for $800 which i feel is a pretty good deal for the immediate boost in power and eas of tuning switching to efi and improving fuel economy
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-13-2017, 03:47 PM
matthewq4b matthewq4b is online now
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St Albert, Alberta
Posts: 1,381
matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesaustin View Post
well im buying the 302 and t5 from a friend for $800 which i feel is a pretty good deal for the immediate boost in power and eas of tuning switching to efi and improving fuel economy

And you will spend that much again and likly more fitting it. Not to counting trying to source nearly unobtanianum 4WD T5 bits. By the time you're done you will paid for a reman engine and then some and still have a used motor.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2017, 10:16 PM
Franklin2's Avatar
Franklin2 Franklin2 is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Market, VA
Posts: 39,624
Franklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant futureFranklin2 has a brilliant future
Never knew they made a 4x4 T5? What did it go in and where would he find it? They were never in a Ford pickup that I know of.

Sometimes good deals are not that good of a deal when it's all said and done. You could put a $1000 into your 351m and rebuild it much easier than putting the $800 302 in it. You are already looking for another transmission.

P.S. If you could find a 400, you could use the crank from it and mix and match parts from the best of the two, and build a engine that would walk all over that 5.0. You would probably have $1800-$2200 in the engine. The c6 you have could take anything you throw at it after you added a trans cooler to it. All done and you would have a decent running truck.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-14-2017, 03:00 AM
matthewq4b matthewq4b is online now
Posting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St Albert, Alberta
Posts: 1,381
matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.matthewq4b has a very good reputation on FTE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklin2 View Post
Never knew they made a 4x4 T5? What did it go in and where would he find it? They were never in a Ford pickup that I know of.

Sometimes good deals are not that good of a deal when it's all said and done. You could put a $1000 into your 351m and rebuild it much easier than putting the $800 302 in it. You are already looking for another transmission.

P.S. If you could find a 400, you could use the crank from it and mix and match parts from the best of the two, and build a engine that would walk all over that 5.0. You would probably have $1800-$2200 in the engine. The c6 you have could take anything you throw at it after you added a trans cooler to it. All done and you would have a decent running truck.
Chev S10 Jeep YJ and TJ for the 4x4 T5 the parts to do the conversion are unobtanium to find separately as they are highly sought after by the Jeep crowd for upgrading from the T4.
So it will mean buying a whole other transmission to get them. And 4x4 T5's do not come cheap, and it is not as strong as the Mazda M5OD 4x4.

So any way this is looked at he will need to buy yet another transmission Either C6, T5 4x4, or M5OD.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums >

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.