2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Weird DEF quantity logic

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2017, 10:01 PM
Spoojr
Tuned
Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Weird DEF quantity logic

So I just took my first 600 mile each way towing trip with my 2017 F250 Platinum. What a dream...I'm not towing anything heavy for it, only a laughable 6,000 lb travel trailer, but I must admit that this thing is a DREAM to tow with.

Now that's out of the way, here was my issue. I hadn't refilled my DEF for over 7,000 miles and I showed around 1/4 tank of DEF remaining at the start of the trip. Obviously, towing uses a lot of DEF, but this is my first diesel so I'm still learning.

On the trip back I began getting the "~200 miles until you will be limited to 50mph" messages. (As expected) I continued the drive until it had about 50 miles until it would limit me to 50mph, so I decided to pull in to a Pilot truck stop and refill at the pump. This went off without a hitch (SUPER easy with the nozzle fitting exactly into the fitting for those of you that have never tried), and I filled it with around 6.8 gallons of DEF.

This is where the weirdness happened. I start up the truck and got the message again that I had around 45 miles before I would be limited to 50 mph. I figured this was normal and it just took a little time for it to register it had been filled, so I get back on the interstate. I continued to get the messages every 10 miles until I finally pulled back off the interstate to try and cycle the power. I had about 15 miles remaining.

I cycled the power once and it still didn't work. I began to get worried and cycled the power again. Still nothing...one more time, and the DEF gauge finally started to register it had been filled. It didn't fill up like your gas tank (instantly), it basically went up in 1/8 tank increments until it was finally full in about 20 seconds.