Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 F-150 4x4 300 Inline 6 Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2017, 12:02 PM
R00ster
Mountain Pass
Received 81 Likes on 39 Posts
96 F-150 4x4 300 Inline 6 Help

I apologize in advance if i am making this post incorrect. I have never done anything like this before and it is my first day. A friend told me I should join and ask the questions of everyone so that I may get some good advice.

1st question the 94 F150 4x4 I just purchased from a 93 year old gentleman has been sitting for a while. I need new tires and shocks. The truck only has 63000 original miles. I do commute up and down and the interstate so I am not looking for coop mudders but i would like to do a small lift and such and put some decent all terrain tires on. It has the INLINE 6 and I dont want to get to much lift and tires that I cause mechanical issues on u-joints and driveshaft or strain the motor or 5 speed transmission. Also I will be pulling from time to time a 16' Cattle stock trailer. Any advice on lift kits and shocks and tires would be greatly appreciated.

2. As stated before it has been sitting and the front tank was left full. I finally got the front tank empty and have just began running fresh gas and added seafoam. The rear tank I did this twice and the truck starts and runs great off of rear tank. On the front tank it is sputtering when trying to crank and misses a bit while driving. I do need to do a good tune up and was waiting until I ran a couple tanks of fresh gas through the front tank. I will replace the fuel filter and such. Just asking for advice on action that i may need to do like types of plugs and wires and anything else beside oil change and air filter to make sure I have done prevenitive maintenance and such.

Thank in advance for all advice and information.

Old 07-30-2017, 01:47 PM