2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Water Seperator - noobie question

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2017, 06:27 PM
Chris Crews
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Water Seperator - noobie question

I am new to diese engines! So I googled a few images and didn't find much and read some topics on here in the search bar.

I think I'll drain my water seperator every month.

Question is - what am I looking for? How can I tell if water is in the fuel? Will the water settle on the bottom or top?

and do I need to drain the whole water separator to check or just a little bit of it?

thanks guys

Old 07-24-2017, 06:34 PM
K A M
Senior User
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Open and drain into a clear container. Only need a pint or so. Let it settle and if you see water it. If you have water it will be to the bottom. If you see some water I would drain the filter again until empty, about 2 quarts or so.

Old 07-24-2017, 06:41 PM
Chris Crews
Elder User
Originally Posted by K A M
Open and drain into a clear container. Only need a pint or so. Let it settle and if you see water it. If you have water it will be to the bottom. If you see some water I would drain the filter again until empty, about 2 quarts or so.
so the water will settle on the bottom and will be obviously seeable.

If if I do see water then I drain it all, then should I immediately take it in for a new fuel filter?

Old 07-24-2017, 07:00 PM
jaherbst
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
He asked the location of the drain. I am wondering also.

Jack

Old 07-24-2017, 07:07 PM
K A M
Senior User
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Driver side forward of the fuel tank. You will see a yellow ****. This yellow **** only turns 1/4 turn to open/close so don't break it off. It is on the fuel filter housing.

Old 07-24-2017, 07:15 PM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,418 Likes on 1,013 Posts
take a look in this folder:

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...ead-first.html