Sponsored by: Moser

How prevalent are the issues...REALLY?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2017, 09:33 AM
30coupe
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How prevalent are the issues...REALLY?

Okay, folks, I'm looking for a different truck. I've been driving a 2004 Tacoma 4x4 access cab for the last four years and other than maintenance items (brakes, muffler, and plugs) all I've had to do was change the oil and use it. Mileage has been good, but not great...average around 18. All in all it has been a great little truck, but the wife wanted a pontoon, which we bought. An 8' wide by 20' long pontoon and a small truck with a 3.4L V6 and a manual transmission is just not a good combination. I picked up a '98 Expedition with a 5.4 to drag the boat home with, but I can already tell this is not the vehicle I'm going to love. I'm right now taking a break from trying to change the trailing arms on the damn thing. The lower bolts are rusted into the bushings...what a fight. I'll eventually win the battle, but it's not filling me with love for this green monster.

Soooo, I'm looking for a full-sized truck to become my daily driver and boat puller in one. I'm on a retirement budget, so new is out of the question at the moment. I'm looking for a used truck in the $20,000 range (aka 2009-2014 F150).

I have had good luck with the Ford trucks I've owned in the past (two Rangers and an '05 FX4 F150), so I'm leaning Ford. However, I have a tendency to do internet research before I settle on something, which leads me to forums like this where the main topics for discussion are often the problems rather than "I love my truck!" type posts. I won't buy Government Motors ever again, so that eliminates that problem...of which they have plenty.

I like my Toyota, but the Tundra is a major gas hog. I could live with the dated technology to get the reliability, but this will be my dd so 12-14 mpg just isn't going to cut it, I'm afraid.