1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Looking at purchasing what to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2017, 04:35 PM
bluefeather300
Cross-Country
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Looking at purchasing what to look for?

I have been doing alot of research and poking around alot of places trying to get info. Ive never owned a diesel before and after a month or so of searching I believe i have located the unit I want! and this is 100% a want i have absolutely no need for the capabilities of this truck.

After talking with the owner it seems to be in good working order I just want to know what to go looking for problems wise when checking the truck out. (I was a FoMoCo tech for a few years though never in the Diesel bays)

I am specifically looking at a 97 f350 4 door drw ZF5 167 000 miles.

Any help would be appreciated on the check for this common problem area or do not even touch the truck if it has this xxxx issue.

thank you

Old 04-08-2017, 09:27 PM
oldbird1965
Fleet Owner

Received 125 Likes on 103 Posts
If taken care of 167K is no problem, these motors are tough! Being a tech I don't have to tell you about rust, leaks, etc. to look for. Someone will come in and list the check list for buying one of these trucks. I don't have that one saved. Welcome to the forum!

Old 04-09-2017, 01:26 AM
bluefeather300
Cross-Country
Thank you for the response.

Yes I was just looking for the diesel specifics. I have a basic understanding of the system but don't know what are problem causers. I will do the obvious rust and leak checks along with turbo check but as far add specific to this truck I guess there is the oil filler cap blow buy test I will do and I have heard the coolant is very important in these vehicles. I also am supposed to check the fuel filter/separator (though I'm not sure how our what for).

I was actually looking for an 88ish idi for simplicity but this truck is everything I'm looking for (tuff finding a clean 4 door drw 3 pedal truck here)