1947 ford starter questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2017, 02:58 PM
brozee9
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1947 ford starter questions

Hi there, brand new to the site. Just picked up this 1947 ford 3/4 ton long box (wish it was a shorty) for $800 bucks delivered with a cool gas tank & some old tongue & groove wood for the bed. Its complete besides the tailgate (anybody got one for sale in the MN area?). Does not run and hasn't for 3 years (so he says)

Anyways, My plan is to get it running and driving "as is" for as cheap as possible. Im a college student with no cash. The patinas fuxin sweet. I want to stay under $1500 ish for the build.

I have a few basic knowledge questions to start:

First the motor: it has a straight 6 and 6 volt. best place to start getting it running? and what should i know when converting to a 12 volt?

wheels: i heard these are split rims are no good. but i can't find replacements that fit the bolt pattern and the big *** hub. I just want steelies with (maybe) white walls. Whats the best route? lug conversion? anybody know wheels that would fit? its a 5 lug by 7 bolt pattern & needs a good sized hole in the middle.

Lowering: whats the best route? flip the shackles?

lastly: Like i said i just want to get it running and driving for $1500 or under. let me know of any details i should know about the truck/build or references i should know about.

Thanks in advanced! its communities like this that keep rodding alive & information flowing...post pictures of your fav 47 fords if you don't mind

Attached Images   
Old 04-05-2017, 05:47 PM
46fordtruck
Received 26 Likes on 15 Posts
First of all, welcome to this site. There's quite a few of the 1 ton trucks here. Second, what you have is what Ford called a Tonner. Its a 1 ton truck, there were no 3/4 ton trucks from '43-'47. The tailgate, it's going to be hard to find in good shape, quite a few guys here need them, but they are out there.