Complete newbie to this - needs a reference book....

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2017, 10:14 AM
Dave in Maine
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Complete newbie to this - needs a reference book....

I'm completely new to towing. In early Sept, my wife and I bought a Craigslist special ?30ft TT (its too dang cold to check on it) as a compromise between camping with backpacks vs an RV. It came w a Reese antisway set up. The drive home was different. The truck had plenty of power, no issues w temps,

First, is there a good resource for beginners? I get the concept of weighing axle wts, but how do you do that when your at the scales? How do you measure tongue wt? Is it normal to feel the TT 'shove' you coasting down hills? I would like to do a bit of due diligence before asking painfully obvious questions, but feel asking here for a good beginners reference is better than blindly getting one.

And it looks like the second time I haul it will be from Maine to NC....

Thanks in advance... now back to lurking.

Old 01-15-2017, 10:40 AM
Twitchyleprechaun
Posting Guru
Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Our first trailer was purchased in Oct '15, and we had no experience with TTs before that. Our first trip with it was very local to meet up with another member here to help show me the RVing way. Since then we have become full timers and have hauled our home across the country and have put about 30k miles under our belt pulling the trailer. At first I did feel pushed around a bit when tring to slow down but getting a brake controller fixed all that. As far as the scales go, I do three weights. Tow Vehicle, Tow Vehicle and Trailer, and then just the Trailer. Have all three of those will allow you to see and calculate everything you need. The heaviest the TT has been was 13,800lbs, which is really pushing the limits of the trailer and the vehicle.