Michigan Chapter Join Chapter, Leader: Toyman

Need a place to do engine overhaul

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2016, 06:25 PM
Kyle Wood
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need a place to do engine overhaul

Hey guys i am a college student and i recently bought a performance package for my truck but dont have anywhere to install it except my back yard. Does anyone know of a location that i could rent out a bay and do my own work. like a do it yourself garage? i am really excited to do this project. i have a pretty good understanding of how to do this although ive only torn an engine apart once and if i got stuck alittle guidance would be nice. i live about an hour away from Grand Rapids. Any help of where i could tackle this project would be nice thanks guys!

Old 10-22-2016, 12:19 PM
Toyman
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 38 Likes on 31 Posts
That's a tough one for a shop due to the insurance regulations and what not. Probably going to have to find someone with barn space or even a storage unit that would be big enough to get your truck inside. I unfortunately am pretty full in my barn for the winter.

Old 10-22-2016, 03:12 PM
Kyle Wood
Senior User
Yes thats what it seems like i wouldnt even mind paying someone to let me use there barn and have there guidance. i really want this done so my truck can perform so much better and then next step is body work and i have a place for that but they wont let me do engine work

Old 10-23-2016, 11:12 AM
Chad149
Lead Driver
Received 507 Likes on 171 Posts
What I did back when I was in your shoes was rented a storage unit. I made sure it had light in it so I could poach electricity. Tight for an engine swap, but plenty of room for engine building.

Old 10-23-2016, 03:20 PM
Kyle Wood
Senior User
do you think there would be enough room to pull the engine out? or would it be working in the truck itslef?

Old 10-23-2016, 05:36 PM
FordBlueHeart
Logistics Pro
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts