1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Filling bed seam

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2016, 06:34 PM
Ikestang
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Filling bed seam

How would you guys go about filling this seam in to have a smooth look? I worried if I do filler it will crack since it flexes a bit. I'm new to doing body work so not sure how much I can get away with.

Old 08-05-2016, 09:30 PM
deckertd
Tuned
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Interestingly enough, I just asked my hot rod body repair friend about this 3 days ago. Essentially he said this, do not weld the joints because the body twist/roll will eventually crack any welds or the body steel. He said the original design was to allow a flexible joint along the body line and there was some type of seam sealer used to allow for flex without paint cracking. I won't bother to counter or validate his opinions, I'm just relaying his 40 years of bodywork experience.

His opinion actually made me stop & think. I know others have done the seam weld on the box, cab & hood but I have no idea if it held up, aside from it being a trailer queen. I got to wondering just how much/long twist an 8' box would hold up to riding over rough roads in the mountains with a load of wood/camper and doing a bunch of rock-n-roll? I can see NP on the hood, but the box? Hmm? I know I never warped/twisted my box with anything loaded into it so I'm sticking with my body mans opinion.

He said there's something called Rust Mort? that needs to go into the joint to prevent further rusting. We/I failed to follow up on how to rid/seal the rust-mort to prevent further damage. My bad...

Dan

Old 08-05-2016, 09:37 PM
SmokeyBear31
Senior User
Weld it. Grind it. Fill with kitty hair. Finish with quality filler.