First Time for Wheel Bearings

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2016, 08:30 AM
jayro88
Fleet Mechanic
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
First Time for Wheel Bearings

Hi,
I am leaving for a 3000 mile road trip next friday. I have done all my normal pre-trip maintenance (fluids, tires, filters etc). I wanted to re-pack my front wheel bearing, which I have never done before. My understanding is that I remove the front rotor by popping off cap on the rotor and removing the nut holding it on. The rotor should then slide off and expose the bearing (the back side of the rotor is the race for the bearing). A few questions:
1. Is what I stated above accurate?
2. Does the bearing simply slid off after removing the rotor, allowing it to be cleaned and repacked?
3. What type/brand of grease is recommenced to use when repacking? I don't need anything super high end, but I would like something that will last a decent time....possibly a synthetic?
4. What is the size and torque spec for the nut holding the rotor on? I don't want to over or under tighten and kill the bearing.

I have a new set of rotors and pads that I will be installing at the same time.

Vehicle is an '88 e250 2wd.

Thanks

Old 06-10-2016, 10:50 AM
The_Josh_Bear
Elder User
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by jayro88
My understanding is that I remove the front rotor by popping off cap on the rotor and removing the nut holding it on. The rotor should then slide off and expose the bearing (the back side of the rotor is the race for the bearing). A few questions:
1. Is what I stated above accurate?
2. Does the bearing simply slid off after removing the rotor, allowing it to be cleaned and repacked?
3. What type/brand of grease is recommenced to use when repacking? I don't need anything super high end, but I would like something that will last a decent time....possibly a synthetic?
4. What is the size and torque spec for the nut holding the rotor on? I don't want to over or under tighten and kill the bearing.