2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2WD question for people in snow

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2016, 07:49 PM
TechJoe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2WD question for people in snow

Hello all,

I have a question for you guys that live around snow...

I live in TX right now with no snow at all. I own a 2006 f150 STX. It has a 4.6, and it's 2WD. I am moving to Woodland Park, CO in a few weeks where it snows quite often. Also, it's at around 8,000' above sea level in the mountains.

I was thinking of trading this truck in and getting a 4WD which would be my most effective option in the snow, but I don't necessarily want to drop 25k on a used, low mileage truck.

That being said, could I just get a good no-slip differential and snow tires for that kind of terrain? I have no experience in snow. I know a 4WD is more effective, but do you think I could be ok using a 2WD with the above setup?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Old 04-21-2016, 09:41 PM
1saxman
Fleet Mechanic
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Before 4WD became common, most of us didn't even get snow tires. I was living in Indiana in 1967 and we had a cold, snowy winter. I had a '67 Mustang without limited slip and the tires were probably not that great. I went wherever I wanted to go. With a pickup truck, you'll need snow tires (its best to get them on all four) and you should carry about 500 lbs in the truck bed over the rear wheels. Sand bags are good to carry because you can use the sand to throw under the tires if you get stuck. Also, the weight of the snow that accumulates in the bed is usually enough to give you traction so that's an option instead of all those sand bags. Putting in a limited slip may be possible without completely changing the whole housing but it won't be cheap. One of the most important things to have in snow country is ABS, which I'm sure you have.