What to check next?

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2015, 04:05 PM
wilfreeman
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What to check next?

Hi guys. I'm new to the Ford world, so a lot of this is new to me. Here's a little history of my acquisition. Forgive me if I run a little long on this first post.

I won my 2008 F250SD 4x4 Supercab with the 5.4 and automatic on Govdeals last Thursday. I went to check it out in person before I placed my final bid. The brakes were weak, so he wouldn't let me drive it around the lot (liability issue). It was advertised as skipping and rough idle. It fired up fine and acted as described. I pulled it forward and back - no other issues. I hooked up the code reader and got multiple misfires along with the cylinders misfiring, one bank was rich and the other was lean.

On the day I picked it up, I wiggled the injector and coil clips and harnesses and checked for vacuum leaks. It started running a LITTLE better, but that's all I could do at the lot.

Got it home and removed the coils one by one and checked the spark - all had a good spark, but 3 of them had gray boots - the rest had brown boots. I noticed the gray boots were slightly shorter than the brown. I replaced the coils as I tested them. I used a Noid tester to test the injector harness along with the screwdriver to listen to the injectors - all good there. I cleared the codes. I fired the truck back up and it ran a LOT smoother! Shortly after, I got the CEL and 304 code. I went under the hood and started playing around with the harnesses. I unplugged the VCT solenoid with no change. I unplugged the #4 coil - no change (this was one of the gray boot coils).