Sponsored by: Moser

73 F-100 Electrical Issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2015, 06:04 AM
Stockian
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
73 F-100 Electrical Issues

Hi everyone! First post so bear with me, had a helluvah day yesterday working on my old truck and I'm a bit lost so looking for some electrical advice.

I'll start from the top that I'm a mechanical novice that has owned this 73 F-100 for about 8 months now and it's been a struggle at times but I love it to pieces.

The latest struggle has been with the electrical system. Over the last few weeks the battery has been consistently failing to charge itself while the truck is running, leaving me to yank it out and charge it myself every week or so to keep the voltage high enough to turn the starter. I had checked all the connections working through voltage regulator and alternator and found no wiring faults, but I'm not very good at this so may have missed something.

My suspicions quickly turned to the voltage regulator as the entire case and especially the connections were very rusty. I swapped that out and saw a modest jump in the voltage across the battery terminals while the truck was running (got up to 13.2V or so whereas before the running and non-running voltage were both in the 12.4-12.7V range). So I thought I had actually solved the problem, but give it a couple days and the battery is down to about 12.2V and unable to start. (I had btw been regularly checking for a parisitic drain off the battery and finding no current draw, and also disconnecting the battery terminals when leaving it overnight because I guess I'm paranoid like that haha!)