6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

2016 GMC 2500 Duramax

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2015, 04:55 PM
Joannr24
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2016 GMC 2500 Duramax

So I test drove and almost bought a GMC Duramax last week since my frustrations with my truck's constant front end death wobble issues are wearing me out.

One distinct thing I noticed when I drove the GMC was the lack of power compared to my 2012 F250 Diesel. The GMC was a slow surge of power and the Ford is a throw you back in your seat kind of power.

I am not an expert at all so can someone explain to me why the Duramax is so sluggish compared to the power stroke. I can't imagine the small difference in HP & torque creates that big a difference in take off power.

Old 11-24-2015, 05:03 PM
smoky_diesel
Cargo Master
Received 212 Likes on 162 Posts
The power curve can be tuned in many ways (pwr vs. rpm, throttle position, ect.) to give a different experience given the same peak hp number. The manufacturers chose different schemes.

Old 11-24-2015, 05:15 PM
LabCab
Laughing Gas
Received 87 Likes on 49 Posts
My Duramax buddies always tell me that the Allison tranny takes so much less power away from the engine that the combo is far superior to Ford and Dodge. But then one of them just had to buy a programmer and tune his Duramax.
He is always tinkering with something. I really struggle with the low hanging DEF tank on the GM twins.
Sorry to hear about your death wobble issues. I have not experienced them with either of my Superduties.

Old 11-24-2015, 05:41 PM
Joannr24
Freshman User
Originally Posted by LabCab
My Duramax buddies always tell me that the Allison tranny takes so much less power away from the engine that the combo is far superior to Ford and Dodge. But then one of them just had to buy a programmer and tune his Duramax.
He is always tinkering with something. I really struggle with the low hanging DEF tank on the GM twins.