Sponsored by: DP Tuner

service engine soon HELP

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2015, 02:43 PM
jeremywbert
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question service engine soon HELP

Hello , Newbie here, Name is Jeremy , I have an 2001 F-250 , 7.3 , six speed, 4 by 4 , 8 ft bed , with overload spring and towing package . It has only 93K on it . Used to haul a 4 horse gooseneck trailer and now hauling a 5th wheel camper trailer . I have really only used this truck to haul horses , hay, cars , and camper trailers .. Have not used it much for non -towing use . So sometimes it sits for a while sometimes in the barn but more often out . Here is my problem …
Two weeks ago I started her up after sitting for about 2 weeks and I got the “ service engine soon “ light. She sounded like she was not hitting on all 8 .. I shut her down , restarted and all was well . Drove to town and back with no problems . .. She sat for another week and a half and so I started her to see if it ould happen again and it did.. That was yesterday. So I first checked the fuel filter , found it nearly perfectly clean, and ran some Lucas injector cleaner thru the system . She still was sputtering and it appeared that she may have only been firing on one bank … I tried shut down and restart several times and it started pouring down rain so I quit for the day .
Today after doing some internet research , (how I found your forum) I started her up again and had the same problem .. So I sputtered her up to my shop door and let her run that way in order to do a crayon to exhaust manifold test to see if one bank was not firing and which one. I was also going to try to check the UVCH (under valve cover wire harness connection) . All of a sudden she kicked in and was running perfectly before I could find a crayon . So I scrapped that idea ..