Sponsored by: DP Tuner

2002 f450 7.3 powerstroke turbo diesel crank no start

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2015, 12:54 PM
Cmfnr450
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2002 f450 7.3 powerstroke turbo diesel crank no start

It's hard as Hades to crank. Driving home the other day it literally wouldn't go over 30 and my boost was reading 2000. We changed the fuel pump and replaced a fitting going to the hose that had broke. It is still hard to crank and won't stay running. Even holding the pedal to the floor it only reads 2000 RPMs and still acts like its running out of gas. On the few times I have got the truck running it has exhaust smoke coming out the back and under the hood. I live in Anniston Alabama and diesel mechanics are few and far between and those that are around are booked up. I don't have the luxury of just driving another truck to work as that truck is my office, my work, my livelihood. My husband as pretty much self taught himself everything the last two years or so but this one has stumped him and my Brother that has been a mechanic for 25 years just on regular cars cause as we have found out diesels are an entirely different breed. Please help!!!

Old 07-03-2015, 12:59 PM
Thomas White
Elder User
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Here some things you can do to help troubleshoot the issue:

HARD START/NO START DIAGNOSTICS

**NOTE: A hard start/ No start concern with EOT Temp. Below 60F perform step 10 first. You may wish to plug the block heater in for a few hours and see if starting improves.

Tools: Fuel Filter Cap Removal Tool / Flash Light / Tools Flash Light / White Bond Paper / Stop or Wrist Watch w/Second Hand Sweep / DVOM

Step #1: Visual Engine/Chassis Inspection

a. Fuel

b. Oil

c. HPOP Oil Level (.5" - 1" from top is full)

d. Coolant

e. Electrical

f. Hoses Leaks Check

Tools: Flash Light

Fuel Oil Coolant Electrical Hoses Leaks Check

Tools: White Bond Paper

Step #2 Check for:

a. Contaminates

b. Correct Grade and Viscosity