Sponsored by: Moser

Replacing rear wheel wells?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2015, 01:11 AM
Zack88
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Replacing rear wheel wells?

My truck had a flatbed when I bought it but part of the deal was I got a regular bed with it. It's solid floors and in decent shape other than a small bend in one rail and a small dent that will pop out on the passenger side and of course the usual wheel arch rot above the tires that's been bondoed up before.

I've got 4 foot long patch panels for each side and I'm getting ready to attempt putting them on along with the rest of the bodywork, I'm still learning bodywork so my question is about my approach to putting them on.

My plan is to cut out the rust until I have all solid metal to work with then trace the patch panel to fit and then just stitch welding it on to keep heat down and minimize warpage. I have a plasma cutter, air saw, air shears, cut off wheels and mig welder to use. A friend offered to let me use a flange tool but I've never messed with them, will the results be better if I flange the panels?

Any tips or guidance would be appreciated the mechanics are all new on the truck now I want to make it look as good as it drives!

Old 04-25-2015, 06:37 AM
Blue and White
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
The flange joint is easier to fit and weld as cutting does not need to be as precise and it is a lap weld vs butt weld. Works best on mostly flat panels. Flange joint around the compound curves of the wheel arch may not work very well... a butt joint carefully fitted and stitch welded would work much better. If you do any lap joints, a coat of weld through primer first in the lap area will help prevent rust down later on.

A couple of other suggestions... best to get an inner fender repair panel as well if you don't already have one. I did mine with outer panel only and had to take a lot of time to cut and fit and weld metal to replace the rotted edge of the inner fender.