1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Suspension questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2015, 10:48 AM
El Guapo 48
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Suspension questions

Im trying to figure out if I should swap out the original 'spring' suspension on my 1956 Ford f100. I've been reading the forums and I see a lot of people going w/ Crown Vic IFS, front power disc conversions, and/or redoing the entire front and rear suspension.

I just plan on cruising with the family here and there. I may go with a 302 or the original engine which I still have, the highest I would go is 351w. I do want a nice lowered look and i'm concerned about all the break problems i've read about. Now that I the body off, should I go with the CV IFS? If so, can I/do I keep the drums on the rear? Im not a skilled wielder and this is my first project. IS the swap expensive? I searched for CV IFS and see one online for 550, yet I see a whole CV for 800.00. Would I benefit from getting the complete car?

Old 02-17-2015, 10:55 AM
Gicknordon
Fleet Mechanic
Received 72 Likes on 36 Posts
If you say you have limited fab experience, i would stick with the solid axle and leaf springs. You can pretty easily lower the truck by just removing some springs from the spring pack. There are also a few different kits to change the front drums to disks and to add power brakes. I think this would not only be easier, but would also save some time in your restoration process.

Old 02-17-2015, 11:11 AM
TireDood
Tuned
Received 15 Likes on 3 Posts