Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cracked dashpad recovering tutorial/ How-to...

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2014, 07:27 PM
roughridn_sob
Senior User
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Post Cracked dashpad recovering tutorial/ How-to...

Well about a month or so I ago was looking around the forum looking for -little walk-through tutorial/how-to on recovering the often ill-fated dashpad in our trucks after many failed trips to the junkyard trying to find a good one. I couldn't find anything so I took it upon myself to be the guinea pig and am pretty stoked with the results.

Just FYI I am not a pro, this my first time attempting something like this so if I can do it so can you.

STEP 1: TOOLS/SUPPLIES
- Scraper to ease removal of old molded vinyl/plastic
- Scissors AND razor (your gonna want both)
- Spray adhesive I talked with the local auto upholstery shop and explained what I was doing he recommended the "Loctite high performance" brand and told me to stay away from 3M I dunno why thats just what he said...
- Desired fabric (Not pictured)I used small perforated cloth backed vinyl again recommended by local auto upholsterer..er..guy not only did it match my door panels he said its good for high UV areas.

STEP 2: Start laying down your fabric
- I recommend starting in the middle and working away from your radio area (that's the hard part)

Take your time on this part. spray both the dash pad and the fabric and make sure it lays down flat. You get about 2 min of working time before the glue is set. Only lay the fabric on the top of the foam pad DO NOT go over the edges or around corners yet.

Step 3: Going Around the Radio bezel

I forgot to take pictures of this part partly because my figures had glue on them and partly because I was excited.