Engine noise

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2003, 10:04 PM
BLZN4FN
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine noise

Hello all i'm new to the Powerstroke thing

I have question for you all at idle there sounds like a rod knock but off idle no noise and the noise is not always there at idle. Is this normal?

Thanks for any input

Old 06-12-2003, 03:52 AM
Quadzilla
Postmaster
Engine noise

If what you're hearing is rhythmic, it's probably just injector noise. Diesels are funny- they seem to make more noise at idle and while under acceleration than they do at cruise on the freeway. Listen to your truck at idle from outside the truck, and compare that sound to another Powestroke. You'll probably find that they sound a lot alike.

Old 06-12-2003, 06:54 AM
BLZN4FN
New User
Engine noise

Hey Quadzilla

what makes the infectors make that noise?
I had a 97 Powerstroke and never heard that noise
Thanks for the reply

Bo

Old 06-12-2003, 05:56 PM
bilder12
Posting Guru
Engine noise

PRESSURE makes the noise ... the old system of firing injectors at 1400 psi is gone. they have found that the higher the pressure , the better the fuel will burn. Next time you go to a tractor pull with diesel mods, listen to the engines. Fuel PRESSURE makes them whine at idle or just a little above idle.

Old 10-18-2003, 12:58 AM
PowerStroker77
New User
Has anyone tried putting aftermarket valve covers on? I wonder if this would reduce the injector clatter?

Also, do any of the aftermarket performance chips get rid of the clatter by changing the timing of the injectors? I know the new Cummins engines are much quieter at idle due to simply changing the timing of the injectors.

Old 10-18-2003, 07:50 AM
Oneof6
Senior User