1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Big Block 460 Emissions Removal

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2013, 08:05 PM
Inside Man
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Big Block 460 Emissions Removal

I have a bone stock 1985 F250 with a 460, c6, and Dana 60. I'm going to remove all emissions taking this 460 down to bare bones, however I do plan on keeping the PCV, and EGR systems. Try to stay with me. I'm not good on computers and even though I was a Ford mechanic from the late Nineties into the early two thousands, I'm not to familiar with these older ones. I'll do my best. This is going to be the start of a frame off resto. I'm taking this summer to make sure the drivetrain is bulletproof before its pulled because it will not be rebuilt. Just cleaned up when it's out.
So here we go..........

I decided to start with this canister.
It's mounted to the passenger side fender well with Three studs running through to the underside of the well.

I used a 7/16 socket to remove these bolts. In the pick I left the nuts loose on the studs so you can see which ones they are.
For those of you that are trying to sacrifice these parts like I am, be carefull to not snap these studs as time has taken a toll on the hardware. You can see I snapped one. Guess I should have worked the nut back and forth a little more.
Anyway........ Moving on........

The air pumps were next.

After taking the belt off by removing the 9/16 adjustment bolt on the left lower side of the left air pump, there is one more longer 9/16 bolt in the rear of the same pump to remove. I then removed the hose that runs between this pump and the canister that I unbolted from the passenger inner fender well. To loosen the hose clamps, I used a 5/16 socket.

I could now remove the pump completely.

For the removal of the right side pump, you have to remove the pulley by removing the Three 10mm bolts. Then it's straight forward just like the last one.